List of 10 Foods Containing High Gluten Levels

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. The following foods all contain gluten

In addition to being naturally found in these three grains, gluten is often added as a thickening agent to other foods.

In recent years many people have discovered that they are intolerant to foods with gluten and have begun gluten free diets.

For these people, foods with gluten destroy the lining of the intestines, causing partially digested food to leak into the body, and causing pain. If you’re gluten intolerant, you’ll want to avoid these foods with gluten.

A List of 10 Foods Containing Gluten

1. Wheat Products

Gluten is found in wheat, and cannot be completely removed. Therefore, all products made with wheat will contain some level of gluten. This is a huge category, because it includes bread, crackers, cookies, cakes, muffins, pizza crust, pancakes, etc.

2. Rye

Any product made with rye, such as rye bread also is a food with gluten.

3. Barley

Barley contains gluten. Foods made with barley include beer and malt vinegar. It is also sometimes used as an additive, so it’s important to read food labels.

4. Cereals

Many cereals are made with wheat or barley, so they tend to be foods with gluten in them. There are some cereals, however, that are gluten free.

5. Sauces

Nearly all sauces contain gluten because they are thickened with flour.

6. Powdered gravies

These are also foods with gluten because they have flour for thickening.

7. Breaded meats

The breading contains flour. This includes meatloaf, meatballs and some hamburger patties that use bread as filler, as well as chicken nuggets and fish sticks.

8. Dry mustard

Dry mustard powder contains gluten.

9. Potato Chips/Crisps

Some contain gluten, some do not.

10. Chocolate

Not all chocolate contains gluten, but often cheaper brands do.

A Gluten Free Diet

To eat a gluten free diet, it’s critical that you be a good label reader.

There are many more foods with gluten than we realize, because it is often a hidden ingredient. It is really mind boggling how many foods contain some amount of gluten.

Even if you choose foods that are labeled gluten free, these may still be foods with gluten. Foods can be labeled gluten free even with a small amount of gluten because it is impossible for it to be completely removed from wheat.

Fortunately, food manufacturers are learning how many people are gluten intolerant, and many are removing wheat from their products, when it is used simply to thicken, and switching to other alternatives for thickening agents. Over the coming years, gluten free products will be easier to come by because it will become a less popular additive.

In the meantime, those with gluten intolerance will have to scout out the foods with gluten, particularly if it is hidden. Switching to a gluten free diet can give those who are gluten intolerant a new lease on life, ridding them of the pain and complications caused by eating foods with gluten. If you’re just learning that you’re gluten intolerant, your new diet will take some getting used to, but will be well worth it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *